A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

A Closed and Common Orbit

By Becky Chambers

  • Release Date: 2016-10-18
  • Genre: Science Fiction
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 127 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

A Publishers Weekly "Best Books of 2017" pick!

Nominated for the 2017 Hugo Award for Best Novel!

Shortlisted for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award!

Winner of the Prix Julia-Verlanger!

Embark on an exciting, adventurous, and dangerous journey through the galaxy with the motley crew of the spaceship Wayfarer in this fun and heart-warming space opera—the sequel to the acclaimed The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for—and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to that beloved debut novel, and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect, and Star Wars.

Reviews

  • A Long Way To A Small Planet

    5
    By Hotrod Lincoln
    For my personal tastes, the human content is whats’ insufficient or missing in much of science fantasy writing; but not this book or her other that I read. Becky makes these relationships the central point of her books, wrapped with the technology and futurism that most of us crave. My benchmark for this type of writing is “The Mote in God’s Eye” by Pournelle and Niven. Totally enjoyable, and relatable!
  • Positive Character Driven SF

    5
    By Prairie_Dog
    “A Closed and Common Orbit” is technically a sequel to “A Long Way to a Small and Angry Planet.” However, it really is a separate story set in the Galactic Commons (GC) Universe that was established by Ms. Chamber’s debut novel. It follows a few secondary characters from the former novel in their own story. Like her previous novel, this work isn’t so much about a science fictional universe, but instead is about people who happen to live in a science fictional universe. Our primary character in this work is a ship’s AI who has just been installed into an illegal synthetic body. She is being cared for by Pepper, a Tech, and Blue, an Artist. Most of the contemporary story of these characters occurs on a port planet in the GC, which is awash in aliens and GC culture. Alternating with this story is another story told about a little girl named Jane, who is on another world where girls like her are created in batches to work in factories. This gene-tweaked labor force supports the society of the Enhanced, who consider themselves an improved form of humanity. These two stories are told in alternating chapters till they come together beautifully, and the book begins its overall conclusion. I found the ending to be very moving, and shed a tear or two when I read the last line. If you are seeking science fiction of galaxy spanning scope, and filled with lots of action, this novel is not for you. Ms. Chamber’s writes very personal and intimate stories about people, good people, who strive to overcome adversity, and treat others well. These are positive stories, that make you feel good. That’s a rare thing these days, and something I appreciate. I was so impressed by this story, I went ahead and pre-ordered the next volume in the GC series right after I finished reading it.
  • JaxGTO loved it

    5
    By Jaxgto
    Great book. Great characters. I read the other book first. Both great reads.
  • Set in the same universe...but not a sequel

    5
    By askmar
    Most of us search for meaning and purpose to our lives. But how do you find it when you are an AI? The variety and diversity of characters / aliens in the novel are enthralling and stimulating. A most enjoyable read.

keyboard_arrow_up