Small Admissions by Amy Poeppel

Small Admissions

By Amy Poeppel

  • Release Date: 2016-12-27
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4.5
From 89 Ratings
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA


People’s Book of the Week

“Perfect for fans of Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep.”—Booklist

Top 6 Books You Need to Read—BuzzFeed

Best Books to Give Every Book Lover on Your List—Town & Country

In this witty, hilarious, and entertaining novel that’s “The Devil Wears Prada meets Primates of Park Avenue” (The New York Times), a young woman is unexpectedly thrust into the cutthroat world of New York City private school admissions.

Despite her innate ambition and summa cum laude smarts, Kate Pearson has turned into a major slacker. After being unceremoniously dumped by her handsome “almost fiancé,” she abandons her plans and instead spends her days lolling on the couch, watching reruns of Sex and the City. Her friends don’t know what to do other than pass tissues and hope for a comeback, while her practical sister, Angela, pushes every remedy she can think of, from trapeze class to therapy to job interviews.

Miraculously, Kate manages to land a job in the admissions department at the revered Hudson Day School. In her new position Kate learns there’s no time for self-pity or nonsense during the thick of the admissions season, or what her colleagues refer to as “the dark time.” As the process revs up, Kate meets smart kids who are unlikable, likeable kids who aren’t very smart, and Park Avenue parents who refuse to take no for an answer. Through a comical and crazy run of wildly unpredictable interviews, subtle bribes, outright threats, final judgments, and page-turning twists, the highly competitive and occasionally absurd world of private school admissions is brought to light in all of its outrageous glory that is reminiscent of Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep.


  • Colorful and fun!

    By WilkerTaos
    Small Admissions was a fun ride with colorful characters facing interesting challenges. Amy Poeppel made me laugh throughout and when it was over, I wanted to keep reading.
  • Adored this Book!

    By crystallyn
    Small Admissions is a story that weaves in and out of the cutthroat world of private school admissions in NYC (which is fascinating), but the true heart of this tale are the four women who are connected by blood, friendship and one bad boy (ex) boyfriend. Amy Poeppel has an incredible wit and she brings each character to life in a picture-perfect way. I found myself chuckling and cheering all the way through the book. And I'm one of those people who says, "ciao," which, when I got to that part, made me burst out laughing in a public place, garnering many looks from the people around me! In my defense, I do speak Italian. ;p Small Admissions is a fun and funny read which I greatly enjoyed.
  • Small Admissions

    By Paris4675
    Charming,witty and adorable. Smart and funny. Highly recommended
  • Wonderful

    By F7 Mom
    I would love for Kate to be a real person and to be my friend. She's witty, authentic and strong. Great cast of characters, interesting way of presenting information and inspiring. A big congrats to author Amy Poeppel.
  • Love!

    By fishjuggler
    I couldn't put this book down!
  • Funny and clever

    By olderguyslikerocktoo
    Escapist fun guilty pleasure.